Established October 31, 1996
Advertisements Disabled
Advertisements Disabled

More Football

Ozone Links
Jacoby Boren Named a Finalist for William V. Campbell Trophy
By Patrick Murphy

From an Ohio State release...

Jacoby Boren a finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy

He becomes Ohio State’s 21st NFF National Scholar-Athlete


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State senior center Jacoby Boren is a finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy, presented by Fidelity Investments. He is one of only 12 student-athletes from throughout college football to be named a finalist today by the National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame for the trophy that recognizes the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation.

Boren will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2015 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class.

The 58th NFF Annual Awards Dinner will be held Dec. 8 in New York City, at which time the winner of the William V. Campbell Trophy will be announced and the winner’s postgraduate scholarship will be increased to $25,000.

“I am very proud, but also very humbled, to be selected as a finalist for this prestigious award and to be named a national scholar-athlete,” Boren, a sustainable plant systems major with a 3.83 overall grade point average said. “This is truly an honor to be considered among the top student-athletes in your class and to also be able to contribute to the rich tradition of Ohio State national scholar-athletes.”

Boren is the 21st Ohio State Buckeye to earn an NFF National Scholar-Athlete award. The total ranks second nationally to the 22 scholar-athletes from Nebraska.

Ohio State’s NFF National Scholar-Athletes

2015 – Jacoby Boren, OC

2008 – Brian Robiskie, WR

2003 – *Craig Krenzel, QB

1999 – Ahmed Plummer, CB

1996 – Greg Bellisari, LB

1995 – *Bobby Hoying, QB

1994 – Joey Galloway, SE

1992 – Greg Smith, NG

1990 – Greg Frey, QB

1989 – Joe Staysniak, OT

1985 – Mike Lanese, FL

1984 – Dave Crecelius, DT

1983 – John Frank, TE

1982 – Joe Smith, OT

1979 – Jim Laughlin, LB

1975 – Brian Baschnagel, RB

1973 – Randy Gradishar, LB

1970 – Rex Kern, QB

1968 – David Foley, OT

1965 – Willard Sander, FB

1964 – Arnie Chonko, DB

*Draddy Award winner (the Draddy later became the William V. Campbell Trophy)

Boren was one of 135 individuals from all levels of play in the NCAA and the NAIA to be nominated as the best all-around student-athlete on his team. Each nominee must have met the highest of standards based on their performance in the classroom, on the field and as outstanding leaders and citizens in the community.

A second-team Academic All-American last year, Boren is also a two-time Big Ten Conference Distinguished Scholar (2013-14 and 2014-15) for having a grade point average above 3.70 and one of only 32 Big Ten football players so honored last year. He is also a two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree and a four-time OSU Scholar-Athlete.

Ohio State head coach Urban Meyer has now coached three NFF National Scholar-Athletes with Florida’s Chris Leake (2006) and Tim Tebow (2009) preceding Boren’s 2015 honor.

“I am incredibly proud of Jacoby and for his parents, Mike and Hope,” Meyer said. “He is a perfect example of the term student-athlete. He is as diligent with his studies and in the classroom as he is on the football field.”

Boren has played in 37 consecutive games for the Buckeyes and has started 23 consecutive games at center. The 6-2, 285-pounder from Pickerington, Ohio and Pickerington Central High School is on the “watch list” for the 2015 Rimington Trophy, which is awarded annually to the nation’s outstanding center.

Player profiles relevant to story:
50 - Boren, Jacoby
* * * * *
To Contribute by mail Make checks and mail to:
Ozone Communications, LLC
1351 King Avenue, Ste 100B
Columbus, Ohio 43212

Help us bring you more Buckeye coverage. Contribute to the-Ozone.

(c) 1996-2020 The O-Zone, O-Zone Communications, Inc. All rights reserved.

This material may not be published, rebroadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Advertisements Disabled