Established October 31, 1996
Advertisements Disabled
Advertisements Disabled

More Football

Ozone Links
Eight Buckeyes Qualify for NCAA Tournament
By John Porentas

COLUMBUS, OH - OSU's success on the mat in the Big 10 tournament yielded them a championship trophy for the trophy case. It also yielded them a boatload of invitations to the NCAA tournament in St. Louis two weeks from now. 

The Buckeyes last won a national championship in wrestling in the 2014-2015 season. It was the first team national championship in program history. 

Based on the outcome of the B1G tournament eight Buckeyes received invitations to compete for All-American Status and a national championship at the NCAA tournament to be held March 16-18. Below is a list of the OSU qualifiers for the NCAA tournament and a brief description of their path to the NCAA tournament. Seeding listed is for the now-completed Big Ten tournament.

125 lbs. No. 8 seed Jose Rodriguez (15-10)
Seventh Place Match: Rodriguez fall of Ben Thornton (Purdue) 3:53
Rodriguez finishes seventh; earns NCAA automatic bid

133 lbs. No. 1 seed Nathan Tomasello (19-0)
Championship Finals: Tomasello decision over No. 2 Cory Clark (Iowa) 5-4
Tomasello wins 133 lb. Big Ten title; earns NCAA automatic bid

141 lbs. No. 5 seed Luke Pletcher (26-6)
Consolation Semifinals: Pletcher decision over Ryan Diehl (Maryland) 5-2
Pletcher finishes fourth; earns NCAA automatic bid

149 lbs. No. 3 seed Micah Jordan (28-3)
Championship Final: No. 1 Zain Retherford (Penn State) technical fall over Jordan 16-1
Jordan finishes second; earns NCAA automatic bid

174 lbs. No. 1 seed Bo Jordan (14-1)
Championship Final: Jordan decision over No. 2 Mark Hall (Penn State) 6-4 SV-1
Jordan wins 174 lb. Big Ten title; earns NCAA automatic bid

184 lbs. No. 4 seed Myles Martin (26-7)
Championship Final: No. 2 Sammy Brooks (Iowa) major decision over Martin 12-2
Martin finishes second; earns NCAA automatic bid

197 lbs. No. 2 seed Kollin Moore (28-3)
Championship Final: Moore decision over No. 1 Brett Pfarr (Minnesota) 15-11
Moore wins 197 lb. Big Ten title; earns NCAA automatic bid

285 lbs. No. 1 seed Kyle Snyder (12-0)
Snyder decision over No. 2 Connor Medbery (Wisconsin) 8-5
Snyder wins 285 lb. Big Ten title; earns NCAA automatic bid.

The only weight classes in which the Buckeyes failed to qualify a wrestler for the NCAA tournament are 157 and 165.

To Contribute by mail Make checks and mail to:
Ozone Communications, LLC
1351 King Avenue, Ste 100B
Columbus, Ohio 43212

Help us bring you more Buckeye coverage. Contribute to the-Ozone.

(c) 1996-2021 The O-Zone, O-Zone Communications, Inc. All rights reserved.

This material may not be published, rebroadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Advertisements Disabled